Trying New Things on Vacation…it is Good for the Brain


We just got back from a week at the beach in San Diego. One of the things I love about vacations is trying new things. I’m not sure why I like to try so many new things while on vacation, but I do. Maybe is is because I have the time. I believe that trying new things opens the brain to possibilities and I love that feeling. Here are just a few things I tried this week:

I rented one of those Bird scooters and rode it on the beach boardwalk for several miles. It was a lot of fun. The whole process was interesting and fun. Riders with a drivers license can ride them on roads in the bike lanes. Since then, I’ve read about people riding them to school, work or just for fun. And when you get to where you are going…you just leave them on the street for another rider to take when they need it. It’s great for short, quick trips. It’s inexpensive, and it keeps less cars on the road.

I also temporarily dyed my hair purple this week. I visited Ulta Beauty and asked a woman in her 50s about it (she had blue hair) and then bought a 30 washes semi permanent kit and Punky Colour 3-in-1 color shampoo and conditioner in the Purpledacious color. After getting back to the hotel and reading about both…I decided to try the temporary shampoo and conditioner. It darkened my hair overall and gave it a purple hue. It will take a few washes until it is all gone. It is fun having purple hair and I received a few compliments. I’d love to have the lighter purple color, but you need blond or a lighter color to begin with. I intend to try it again since I now have the supplies.

When we first arrived at the beach, my skin felt blah. I washed my face several times and it seemed to get worse (ironically, Wayne said the same thing about his own skin). I drove to a Target and spent a good hour looking at facial beauty products. I would never do this at home. Who has the time? I found quite a few cool products to try. I got back to the hotel and immediately tried several of them and my face instantly felt better. I bought some facial cleansing buffs that are rough enough to remove dead skins cells, and used it with Burt Bee’s peach deep pour scrub. Then used a New Yes to Grapefruit brightening peel off facial mask that had Vitamin C. I tried a new Clean and Clear moisturizer which I had to apply twice so my skin didn’t feel too dry. The products also had a cooling effect for several hours which was amazing. It was like I had put together my own facial system for about $20. Love it and my skin felt much better. In my lifetime, I’ve had several dermatologists tell me that when it comes to keeping your skin fresh, the best products are usually the cheapest products with the fewest ingredients. And I’ve personally found that changing products every few months seems to keep the skin looking better. This was a fun little experiment to try while I had the time.

We also took a 15-mile bike ride around the beaches and Mission Bay. It was a beautiful ride! We stopped several times around the bay and it took us several hours. It was fun to see areas I have not seen before and a few I have not seen in awhile. I’ve wanted to do this bike ride for awhile and I’m glad we did it. It was fun.

This entry was posted in Happiness, Simplified, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.