2023 was a year of constant change

This year has been constantly changing for me. I left a company I worked for for almost 14 years, started a new job, continued working for a few other schools, flew to Nashville three times to teach a two day class, moved into a new house (and learned about being a landlord), took more flights this year (both work and for pleasure), started to learn about things like medallion levels and sky clubs, and we adopted a cat that had been at the shelter for over a year. 

Most of these changes have been extremely positive, while a few were stressful. The first few months of the year were spent in anger at my employer for letting an idiot run our school and watching people leave in mass numbers. He was later fired, but at the time no one was listening and this was very stressful. I remember having a conversation with a friend at the time, and couldn’t stop talking about it. My faced turned red, and I was consumed by my anger. 

This experience was negative, and yet I needed to leave that school. I couldn’t see it at the time, but that job was holding me back. I stayed much longer than I should’ve and was comfortable. It’s only been eight months since I left, and my life has changed dramatically. It’s almost as though once I left, I wanted to change everything in my life. 

Life is fascinating. Before working for that school, the longest I had worked for a company was a little over three years. I grew a lot during my years spent working there. I started teaching, finished a doctorate degree, paid off all debt, started saving money, and started to assert my voice more. So while I may complain about how my time ended, overall my time there was productive and a good learning experience. 

I’ve enjoyed this year of change. It makes me want to continue that into the new year. I’d like to do some international travel in 2024, and I’m trying to set myself up for that now. I know I have a limited number of years left on this planet and I mean to take advantage of that moving forward. My health also needs to be my focus so that I can proceed into these years of change more easily, and I’m making those changes now.  2024 will be very exciting. 

This entry was posted in Happiness, Simplified. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.